Day One

Day one back in Australia I discovered a few things…

  • Asking the roving customs official a coy question about choccie bikkies and what box you should tick on your customs form WILL get you a special stamp that enables you to miss the giant screening queue
  • Only little old men with nothing better to do than talk to strangers care that you are back in Australia for the first time in 4 1/2 months
  • The first things I found myself needing to buy were SMH, Marie Claire and a can of Red Bull…oh how I have missed Red Bull
  • It is awesome to see your family after such a long time…absence really does make the heart grow fonder
  • I NO LONGER LIKE CHICKEN SALT (understandably this discovery has rocked my world and I won’t recover from it for quite some time)
  • The vast array of drinks available at your average chicken shop is mind boggling…and awesome
  • I do however still like Mc Chicken burgers…phew
  • The internet at my mum’s place is even more glacially slow than I remember…but just as unreliable!
  • Some grudges die hard and some people are funny (not ha-ha)
  • Manila traffic has made me more patient about Sydney traffic…two lanes is always two lanes, not five or three or one at various intervals
  • My brother has the capacity to surprise me…he willing watched a couple of hours of my wedding DVD
  • I don’t know if I want to go back…
8 thoughts on “Day One

  1. I don’t understand how anyone could fall out of love with chicken salt? Are you sure about this? Perhaps you just had a one of bad experience… a bad batch?

Leave a Reply

